June 7, 2023

Episode 9: Fuck a Blog, Dog


  1. Kool Aid & Frozen Pizza – Mac Miller (2010)
  2. “EARL” – Odd Future (2010)
  3. Slaughterhouse – Joe Budden feat. Joell Ortiz, Nino Bless, Crooked I, Royce da 5’9 (2015)
  4. “OTIS” (Funk Flex Hot 97 premiere) – JAY-Z & Kanye West  (2011)
  5. “Paradise” – Mickey Factz  (2010)
  6. “Knock Knock” – Mac Miller (2011)
  7. “Black & Yellow” – Wiz Khalifa (2010)


Hot from the New Music Cartel begins a five year fight in the courts just to understand why his site is seized by the government. Record labels, tired of being outsiders to the blogs’ success, help take them down. Mac Miller becomes the first and only hip-hop artist to go number-one independently. Joe Budden, seeing this shift in power, goes back into the label system. In looking out for themselves, Complex turns on Eskay, throwing him under the bus.


  1. Recording Industry Decries AM-FM Broadcasting as ‘A Form of Piracy’ – WIRED
  2. Web Sites Shut in Piracy Crackdown Dispute Warrant – The New York Times 
  3. Is the Right Hand Talking to the Left? The OnSmash Situation 
  4.  DJ Drama And The Raid That Changed Rap – NPR
  5. Joe Budden Signs with Amalgam Digital, Preps Retail Release of Mood Muzik 3 – XXL 
  6.  Royce 5’9 On How Beef With Joe Budden Led To Slaughterhouse